Forget the Superbowl

‘Be sure to get in the shower when you get home, hon, because I’m worried about the bedbugs.’

Bedbugs?’

‘I’m telling you, this place has a lot of potential. Elvis used to stay in the penthouse. If they reopened the bar, I would hang out there all the time. You’re going to love it.’

When Steve isn’t trying to turn country ham into prosciutto, he is a criminal defense attorney, and he needs to drum up some business.  January is a slow month because his regulars have blown all their money on drugs and liquor for the holiday period, have gotten arrested and have had to post bail. He says that things generally don’t pick up until the tax refunds get sent out later on in February. So he is considering whether to sponsor the weekend wrestling promotion at the Stadium Inn. ATL is already sponsored by Advance Financial and a tattoo parlor, so it’s a natural fit.

‘Wouldn’t it be easier just to get a website?’

He rolled his eyes. ‘These are not really internet people, hon. Most of them aren’t very good at reading.’ And indeed, that would explain the sign outside.

I’m not saying that Steve is a liar, but if Elvis ever stayed here, he must have been off his face. I’m not ruling it out, but it wasn’t one of his finer moments.

You may not know this, but Nashville is an international hub of professional wrestling. While many people prefer the glitz and glamour of the big promotions, real connoisseurs of the sport prefer the smaller and more intimate atmosphere of the minor leagues.

This is the only way in which hardcore wrestling fans are comparable to wine snobs.

 

I suspect that I didn’t really fit in. When  Nick Iggy came out and made his triumphal march around the circumference of the ring to greet his fans, he stopped when he got to me in momentary astonishment, and then actually kissed my hand. I felt like the Queen.

There was plenty of action, and I can see why Steve has become a regular:

But for me, it was all about the fans.

ATL Wrestling: it’s family entertainment, for some families.

© Copyright 2011, Southern Dysfunction

3 Comments

Filed under Sports

3 responses to “Forget the Superbowl

  1. Hilarious… I wish I could come join!!

  2. Jim Mullins

    I’m so glad to see that this is still going on in Nashville. When I was in high school (40+ years ago), I used to attend “Live Studio Wrestling” at the Hippodrome in Nashville (which was where the Vanderbilt Holiday Inn is now). It was great, and I’m sure older members of some of the same families were there. The announcer was locally famous; he used to toss Country Pride sausage out to the audience.

Leave a Reply

