Turkey Shoot: Next Generation

What really impressed me about the NWTF Convention was that it wasn’t about guys shooting animals. It was about families shooting animals. Hunting is a way of life down here in the South, once you get out of the city. Mother told me last summer that an elementary teacher of her acquaintance in the Appalachians says that she has kids who bring bear meat to school in their lunchboxes. Yes!

For us city folk used to buying meat in plastic-wrapped containers, this is a difficult concept to grasp, because except for the odd vacation at Yellowstone, we have lost our connection with the land. Since its founding in 1973, the NWTF has been instrumental in ensuring that the wild turkey population of the United States has risen from 1.3 million to more than 7 million birds. Can you tell that I am beginning to get excited about guns? I also secretly think that I would look kind of cute with one of those Sarah Palin hairdos.

Anyway, the theme at this year’s NWTF Convention was ‘Our Youth. Our Legacy.’ I don’t think that there is any YouTube footage up yet of the youth division Turkey Calling Championships, but this will give you an idea of the kind of thing I am talking about.

Meanwhile, back at the show, Junior was a bit taken aback by the babies. ‘Mum,’ he pointed out. ‘You would think that in families with a lot of guns hanging around, it would be a bad idea to dress infants in camouflage. Surely it would be safer to put them in something with high visibility?’ I could see his point, but they still looked pretty cute to me.

 

My Teddy's name is Earl!

I especially like the pink lace trim on her camo romper.

Be afraid. Reincarnation is a fact.

Miss Harriet: ‘Aren’t you a cutie? Smile for the camera!’

Baby: ‘Oh thank God you’re here. My name is Senator Edward Kennedy. There’s been some sort of terrible mistake.’

© Copyright 2011, Southern Dysfunction

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “Turkey Shoot: Next Generation

  1. I knew Ted would be reincarnated as a Southern baby in camo!

Leave a Reply

